The Multi Academy Trust Board of Directors

The Trust Board of Directors are the accountable body. They ensure that the strategic direction of the MAT enables each of the academies within it to raise educational standards within a secure financial model. They also:

  • Set the values and vision for the MAT and ensure these a lived out
  • Ensure compliance with charity and company law and the Funding Agreement
  • Work collaboratively with the Local Governing Bodies to ensure high standards against national indicators
  • Guarantee the sound financial management of all academies within the trust.

The Trust Board comprises of 9 Directors who meet at least once a term.

Sue Heap

Sue is a full time Finance and HR Director, working for a French group of companies. She has worked in the IT and healthcare technology business for the last 25years+. Sue became a co-opted governor some 22 years ago, and has served on four governing bodies, chairing three of these at various times during her service. She brings HR and finance expertise to the Board, as well as knowledge of being a governor and chairing committees & bodies.

Adam Walsh

Adam is a classically trained musician who has been working in education for over 20 years, teaching in both primary and secondary phases. For the last 10 years Adam has been a senior leader including being Headteacher and Executive Headteacher for four primary schools in South Warwickshire and has also supported leaders and governing bodies across Warwickshire in school improvement, policy development and staff development. Adam is currently the Chair of the Headteacher Advisory and Reference Group for Coventry Diocese Board of Education and a member of the DBE.

Andrew Deeks

Andrew is now retired from paid employment but fully employed in voluntary work as a mentor with a Stratford-based young person’s charity, clerk to the Trustees of a local almshouse charity, trustee for a previous employer’s pension scheme, treasurer for the Alcester Minster group of churches and a foundation governor in one of the MAT schools. He has been a governor for 35 years and recently served on the Interim Executive Board of another CE school, moving it from special measures into a large Multi Academy Trust. Andrew’s previous employment and self-employment experience was in finance and marketing before he took up general management and non-executive director responsibilities.

Catherine Barron

Catherine has spent most of her career in the Banking and Finance industry for HSBC in a variety of management roles including business banking, head office, HR, change management, training, telephone banking, process management as well as managing a large high street bank in Stratford and its four satellite branches. She gave up her career when her daughter was born and became a Parent Governor at her son’s primary school. Catherine joined the governing body of Temple Grafton C of E Primary School as a Co-opted Governor and was then asked to become Chair of Governors in 2016 where she has really enjoyed the challenge and responsibility in supporting the school and its community.

Stuart Tilsley

Stuart managed a number of group General Medical Practices across the Midlands region for nearly 25 years following an earlier career in industry and commerce.
In 2015, Stuart was invited to become a Foundation Governor at Coughton C of E Primary School. He has been encouraged and delighted to see first-hand the high quality of education provided at the school and the strong Christian ethos underpinning all that is done. I am keen to see this enhanced with the emergence of the MAT and look forward to contributing to its development in the future.

Vincent Foy

Vincent is a retired Procurement Manager who worked primarily in the Utilities industry. Vincent became a parent governor at his children’s school in Bolton, Lancashire. When his family moved to Alcester due to work relocation, he became a parent governor at St Faiths Junior School in 1997 and continued as a Local Authority governor when St Nicholas’ school was formed. He has chaired, for many years, the Finance and Resources committee at the school.

Nick Moon

Nick has enjoyed a successful career in corporate strategy and marketing working in a line management capacity for several large companies and as a management consultant with PWC. More recently, Nick has set up, run and sold a national cycle training and promotion business. Now semi-retired, Nick is involved in property development and being a ‘house husband’ looking after his three children who all attend Coughton C of E Primary School. NIck has been on the Governing Body at Coughton for 5 years as a parent Governor and is the Chair of Governors.

Marian Webb

Marian retired from Barnardo’s as an Assistant Director of Children Services (Midlands and South West) in August 2019 after 35 years service, and is now a volunteer at Coughton C of E Primary School. Previously she worked as a social worker and manager in several local authorities, but decided that she enjoyed the challenge and opportunities that exist within the voluntary sector to do things differently for the well being of children. Whilst in Barnardo’s she has had a leadership and development role in Safeguarding and children’s emotional health and well being, within the Midlands and South West. She developed, established and line managed a number of services within the Midlands and South West.

Marion Jones

Marion Jones has taught in primary schools since 1983 across a broad range of settings. Most recently she was Head Teacher at Wootton Wawen C of E Primary School and Chair of the Stratford, Henley and Studley consortium of schools. A degree in French, Spanish and Linguistics as well as time spent teaching in multicultural schools underpin her passion for literature, language learning and developing intercultural understanding. She is an active member of her local church serving on the PCC.

MAT Directors Meetings 20/21 Total Attended 20/21 Term of Office
Directors Full Fin Aud Start date – end dates
Cathy Barron 5 5 5 01/03/2018 – 28/02/2022
Andrew Deeks 6 6 6 01/03/2018 – 28/02/2022
Vincent Foy 6 6 6 01/03/2018 – 28/02/2022
Sue Heap (Chair) 5 4 4 01/03/2018 – 28/02/2022
Nick Moon 6 6 6 01/03/2018 – 28/02/2022
Stuart Tilsley 6 6 6 01/03/2018 – 28/02/2022
Adam Walsh 6 6 6 01/03/2018
Marian Webb 5 5 5 01/06/2020 – 31/05/2024
Helen Wood 0 0 0 01/03/2018 – 15/07/2021
Full – Full MAT Directors Meeting
Fin – MAT Directors Finance Meeting
Aud – MAT Directors Audit Meeting
Directors 20/21 Relevant Business and Pecuniary Interests Governance Role in other Educational Institutions Relationship between Director and MAT Staff
Directors None None None
Cathy Barron None None None
Andrew Deeks None None None
Vincent Foy None None None
Sue Heap (Chair) None None None
Nick Moon None None None
Stuart Tilsley None None None
Adam Walsh None Member and Director of the Coventry Diocesan Board of Education. None
Marian Webb None None None
Helen Wood None None None